Gallery

Happy 100 Birthday Girl Scouts!!!

20120313-175814.jpg

March 12, 2012, TODAY Girl Scouts USA celebrates our 100th Anniversary!

As the GS camp song goes… “Horray for Girl Scouts!”
(click here to listen to the G- for Generosity song) http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/girl-scouts-greatest-hits/id314147938

I have been a Girl Scout for 20 years…. 12 years as a scout (Brownie, Junior, Cadette & Senior) and now 8 years as my daughter’s troop leader. This is truly TRULY an amazing and life-changing organization that helps girls learn more about themselves and their world, reach out to help other people, practice leadership, and as the GS song says… “Change the World!” (click here to listen to the We Change the World song) http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/girl-scouts-greatest-hits/id314147938

I know it has changed MY life! And I see how my daughter too has been changed by her experience being a Girl Scout. It is clear that the values of God, family, community, service to others, honesty, responsibility and friendship that come so easily to her, that hopefully we are teaching her at home and church, are the same values embraced by the Girl Scout Promise and Law.

Every day girls & women (myself included) strive to LIVE the Girl Scout Promise & Girl Scout Law in their daily lives. Daily. Daily live a principled life. At home, at school, in our communities….. in the world.

I hope and pray that all girls find the depth of friendship, community, personal growth, and connection that my daughter and I have found through Girl Scouts, and that Girl Scouting remains strong for the next 100 years!

As my Cadette Troop likes to say: Hello, Peace, Welcome & Shalom,
xoxo Michelle

The Girl Scout Promise
(click here to listen- beautiful!) http://www.girlscouts.org/program/basics/promise_law/

On my honor, I will try:
To serve God and my country,
To help people at all times,
And to live by the Girl Scout Law.

The Girl Scout Law
I will do my best to be
honest and fair,
friendly and helpful,
considerate and caring,
courageous and strong, and
responsible for what I say and do,
and to
respect myself and others,
respect authority,
use resources wisely,
make the world a better place, and
be a sister to every Girl Scout.

Leave a Reply

