Best FREE (or almost free) iPad apps for “Adapted Literacy” and The Basics: ABCs, 123s, Colors

I want to share some of my favorite FREE (or almost free) early literacy iPad apps that are “kid approved”by my students.

Image

Learning the basics: ABCs, 123s, Colors…:

Starfall  (totally Kid approved!) https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/starfall-abcs/id395623983?mt=8

Endless ABCs  (great fun learning!)  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/endless-alphabet/id591626572?mt=8

Bitsboard   http://www.friendshipcircle.org/apps/browse/bitsboard/Endless ABC

Color Slapps  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/color-slapplications/id416365360?mt=8Phone4Kids (has phone keypad to practice their phone numbers and lunch codes)

Numbers (iTouchiLearn)     https://itunes.apple.com/vg/app/itouchilearn-numbers-for-preschool/id419514216?mt=8

Letter School Lite  http://letterschool.com

Spell Write Read  https://itunes.apple.com/ca/app/spell-write-and-read/id517093618?mt=8

Magnetic ABC Lite http://www.mentormob.com/learn/i/apps-for-early-elementary/abc-magnetic-alphabet-lite-learn-to-write-for-kids-for-ipad-on-the-itunes-app-store

Image

Adapted Writing:

Collins Big Cat apps (stories to read then write your own version!  there are several FREE on their website – scroll down then click on free downloads)

http://collinsbigcat.com/apps

Toontastic (create cartoons):  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/toontastic/id404693282?mt=8

Inkflo (pre-writing & note taking)  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/inkflow-think-visually!/id519524685?mt=8Dragon Dictation (dictate written work then can edit)- (already on iPad)

Story Creator  https://itunes.apple.com/ie/app/story-creator/id545369477?mt=8

Little Story Maker  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/little-story-maker/id508287659?mt=8

Cosmic StoryMaker Lite  https://itunes.apple.com/ie/app/cosmic-storymaker-lite/id519853876?mt=8

Book Creator Free https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/book-creator-free/id661166101?mt=8

Image

Adapted Reading:

SpeakColors https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/speakcolors/id459123512?ls=1&mt=8

BB Magic Lite (Bob Book)  https://itunes.apple.com/sn/app/bob-books-reading-magic-lite/id408873050?mt=8

ABC Reading Magic  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/abc-reading-magic-1-short/id416896853?mt=8

Please let me know which apps are “kid approved” at your house or classroom.

Enjoy!

xoxo Michelle

Advertisements
Gallery

Valentine’s Day calming, deep-pressure SENSORY socks… to hold, wrap or squeeze (aaah…)

This gallery contains 1 photo.

These socks are the BEST invention E-V-E-R!!!  “Cozy Socks” Thanks to my daughter, Danielle, who took my rice-filled sock idea and made it pretty & crafty & personal & warm!  This year for Christmas she made one custom-crafted “Cozy Sock” … Continue reading

Gallery

Soft, pretty PLAY dough made at home!

This gallery contains 1 photo.

When my children were little I remember spending HOURS and hours in our kitchen measuring, scooping, mixing, stirring and kneeding our own homemade playdough.  Making it didn’t NEED to take so long, but it was an activity they LOVED! And … Continue reading

Gallery

Ooey- Gooey Homemade Gak (chemistry experiment for little hands)

This gallery contains 1 photo.

Little hands will LOVE this! Help them mix up some homemade Gak and get their hands into this gooey-gloppy slippery mess for a sensory experience like no other! The more they knead it the firmer it becomes….  and they will … Continue reading